Since we were discussing rules, I thought I would bring up this one for all the Skaven (and now beastmen) players out there. I was just re-reading the magic section and I think that you do NOT need to meet the casting value to get a spell off on double 6s.
Question: does a spell cast on 2 sixes go off even if it doesn't meet the casting value? Acording to some redshirts at the bunker, no.
Acording to the rulebook, however, yes.
"So far we have seen that spells are cast by rolling a result equal to or more than the required casting score. In Addition, there are two special rules that apply to wizards when they cast spells: these are irresistabel force and miscasts."
The "in additon" implies that there is more to the story than what we have seen "so far", but it doesn't answer the question either way.
However, further down page 107: "When rolling to cast a spell, any result of two or more unmodified 6s means that the spell has been cast with irresistable force. THE SPELL IS CAST SUCCESSFULLY and the enemy cannot attempt to stop it working by dispelling it as described below."
The same point is re-iterated on page 109. Anyway, thats why I like checking the book over another guy near the table, even if his shirt IS red...