Battle at Blobs ParkHomeRegisterLog in
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Latest topics
» Challenge accepted!!
Thu Jul 30, 2015 2:48 am by aroy

» club night/ just hanging
Wed Jan 28, 2015 3:05 pm by ginger

» Highlander 40k 1850 tournament at Flashback Comics
Sun Dec 14, 2014 9:36 pm by MaddMike6

» Highlander 40k format
Thu Oct 30, 2014 9:54 pm by MaddMike6

» going to outside the box this weekend
Mon Sep 15, 2014 7:21 am by scooter

» Warhammer Quest - Board Game
Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:09 pm by scooter

» going to NOVA
Wed Sep 03, 2014 12:02 pm by scooter

» 2014 BFS GT Oct 10-12 40KGT/X-WING/Malifaux Nyack NY
Mon Sep 01, 2014 12:39 pm by pissclams

» fantasy game at Dropzone on saturday
Fri Aug 22, 2014 11:05 am by scooter


Share | 
 

 Irresistable force rules

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
S-Low



Posts : 71
Join date : 2010-01-31

PostSubject: Irresistable force rules   Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:15 pm

Since we were discussing rules, I thought I would bring up this one for all the Skaven (and now beastmen) players out there. I was just re-reading the magic section and I think that you do NOT need to meet the casting value to get a spell off on double 6s.

Question: does a spell cast on 2 sixes go off even if it doesn't meet the casting value? Acording to some redshirts at the bunker, no.
Acording to the rulebook, however, yes.
Page 107:
"So far we have seen that spells are cast by rolling a result equal to or more than the required casting score. In Addition, there are two special rules that apply to wizards when they cast spells: these are irresistabel force and miscasts."

The "in additon" implies that there is more to the story than what we have seen "so far", but it doesn't answer the question either way.

However, further down page 107: "When rolling to cast a spell, any result of two or more unmodified 6s means that the spell has been cast with irresistable force. THE SPELL IS CAST SUCCESSFULLY and the enemy cannot attempt to stop it working by dispelling it as described below."

The same point is re-iterated on page 109. Anyway, thats why I like checking the book over another guy near the table, even if his shirt IS red...
Back to top Go down
joko12



Posts : 1084
Join date : 2009-09-25
Age : 29
Location : Glen Burnie Battle Bunker

PostSubject: Re: Irresistable force rules   Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:44 pm

You need to meet the casting roll is the way that I have always played and I have not played anyone that does not think that as well.

One refrence you could use to the rule is in the high elf book where it says if you roll any doubles the spell works irresistably but it has to meet the casting value.

So thats they way I think it should be played.
Back to top Go down
Martin



Posts : 558
Join date : 2009-08-12

PostSubject: Re: Irresistable force rules   Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:02 pm

The other interpretation, is that you have to have used enough dice that it will be possible to meet the casting value.

So say your spell goes off on a 15, throwing 2 dice and getting sixes wouldn't be possible, but if you throw three dice and get 6,6,1 you'd have the irresistible.

I read that magic will be changing a lot in 8th so this may not matter too much longer.
Back to top Go down
http://martianempire.blogspot.com/
joko12



Posts : 1084
Join date : 2009-09-25
Age : 29
Location : Glen Burnie Battle Bunker

PostSubject: Re: Irresistable force rules   Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:07 pm

Yeah its going to be crazy the new rules are getting to be a little whacky, I herd all ward saves are nullifed by magic attacks of any kind
Back to top Go down
Brent



Posts : 472
Join date : 2009-08-14
Age : 33
Location : hidden

PostSubject: Re: Irresistable force rules   Wed Mar 03, 2010 2:57 am

joko12 wrote:
Yeah its going to be crazy the new rules are getting to be a little whacky, I herd all ward saves are nullifed by magic attacks of any kind

that kinda makes good sense though
Back to top Go down
scooter



Posts : 2088
Join date : 2009-08-12
Age : 34
Location : Glen burnie

PostSubject: Re: Irresistable force rules   Wed Mar 03, 2010 9:50 am

it really is a dead issue I've been told there will be no confusion in what you will need to cast a spell.

On a related note thou you need to meet the casting value of the spell for the spell to go off.
Irresistabel force means you cant dispell it.

_________________
Nicholas A Walters AKA Scooter
Glen Burnie BAttle bunker Councle
Back to top Go down
Carlos Octavian



Posts : 19
Join date : 2010-01-13
Age : 36
Location : Fort Meade, MD

PostSubject: Re: Irresistable force rules   Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:07 am

Just my two cents: I interpret the rule as written AND I agree with Martin in that you have to be throwing enough dice to have casted the spell otherwise. (It wouldn't make sense to get IR for the Dreaded Thirteenth spell on two dice Rolling Eyes )
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Irresistable force rules   Today at 3:41 am

Back to top Go down
 
Irresistable force rules
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Mon'keigh Skyhammer formation - countering the new cheese
» A Modernized Splinter Raid Force
» Force Halberds as Force Axe?
» Martian Rebellion, with figs and GURPS rules(SAVAGE WORLDS?)
» Rules and Guidelines for hosting a party

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Inner Circle Gaming Club Forum :: Warhammer Fantasy :: Warhammer Fantasy Discussion-
Jump to: